abo_gift abo_online abo_print abo_student abo_test angle_left angle_right angle_right_filled arrow_big_down arrow_big_down_filled arrow_big_left arrow_big_left_filled arrow_big_right arrow_big_right_filled arrow_big_up arrow_big_up_filled arrow_dropdown_down arrow_dropdown_up arrow_small_left arrow_small_left_filled arrow_small_right arrow_small_right_filled arrow_stage_left arrow_stage_left_filled arrow_stage_right arrow_stage_right_filled caret_down caret_up close close_thin close_thin_filled contact download_thick download_thick_filled download_thin download_thin_filled ebook edit element_headline element_label element_relatedcontent lock mail minus page page_filled pages pages_filled phone plus print print_filled quotationmarks_left quotationmarks_right search send share share_filled shoppingcart_big shoppingcart_big_filled shoppingcart_header shoppingcart_small shoppingcart_small_filled social_facebook social_googleplus social_linkedin social_pinterest social_twitter social_xing social_youtube user_big user_small

Structural Engineering Award

14th Structural Engineering Award 2015

Ulrich Finsterwalder Ingenieurbaupreis Logo 70x20

The jury met on 21 November 2014 in Berlin. The jury selected the winner from 46 entered projects located in nine countries (Belgium, Brazil, Germany, France, Austria, Saudi-Arabia, Switzerland, USA, People's Republic of China) according to functional, technical, economic and design criteria.

The winner is:

  • Kaeng Krachan Elefantenpark, Zürich (CH)


Once again this year, all the projects demonstrated excellently the whole range of structural engineering in design and construction.

The jury under chairman Prof. Norbert Gebbeken, Bavarian Chamber of Civil Engineers, chose the winning project unanimously in the first round. The following projects were also mentioned with distinction (without order):

  • Ultimate Trough Test Loop California, Harper Lake (USA)
  • Construction excavations for the extension of the Rhine power station at Iffezheim
  • Rail overbridge Grubentalbrücke VDE 8.1 on the new line Ebensfeld-Erfurt, Erfurt
  • Bridge over the Saar at Mettlach, repair and refurbishment, Mettlach

The prize giving ceremony takes place on 30 January 2015 in Munich.

About the award

Every two years since 1988, the publisher Ernst & Sohn has awarded the Structural Engineering Award for exceptional achievements in structural engineering to the project team responsible for the prizewinning structure. Between 30 and 40 project teams take up the challenge to enter each time.

With the announcement of the 2015 Award, the Structural Engineering Award is being renamed as the "Ulrich Finsterwalder Structural Engineering Award" in honour of Ulrich Finsterwalder. The publisher Ernst & Sohn, in collaboration with the descendants of Ulrich Finsterwalder, will thus continue the basic idea of the Structural Engineering Award, to promote the profession of civil and structural engineering in the public arena.

About Ulrich Finsterwalder

Ulrich Finsterwalder counts as one of the most significant civil and structural engineers of the 20th century due to his contributions in the fields of reinforced concrete and prestressed concrete. He is one of the outstanding engineers, known outside the boundaries of Germany and Europe. Finsterwalder built on many continents and his achievements were honoured internationally with dozens of medals and other honours. His name therefore not only stands for reinforced concrete construction but for the whole field of structural engineering.

You can find a short biography and an overview of his works and career on Structurae.


Wilhelm Ernst & Sohn Verlag für Architektur und technische Wissenschaften GmbH & Co. KG
Rotherstr. 21, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Dr.-Ing. Dirk Jesse
Tel. +49(0)30 47031-275

We thank our partners for their kind support

We thank our partners for their kind support


The Ernst & Sohn e-mail newsletter keeps you informed of our new books, interesting journal articles and the latest industry news.