abo_giftabo_onlineabo_printabo_studentabo_testangle_leftangle_rightangle_right_filledarrow_big_downarrow_big_down_filledarrow_big_leftarrow_big_left_filledarrow_big_rightarrow_big_right_filledarrow_big_uparrow_big_up_filledarrow_dropdown_downarrow_dropdown_uparrow_small_leftarrow_small_left_filledarrow_small_rightarrow_small_right_filledarrow_stage_leftarrow_stage_left_filledarrow_stage_rightarrow_stage_right_filledcaret_downcaret_upcloseclose_thinclose_thin_filledcontactdownload_thickdownload_thick_filleddownload_thindownload_thin_filledebookeditelement_headlineelement_labelelement_relatedcontentlockmailminuspagepage_filledpagespages_filledphoneplusprintprint_filledquotationmarks_leftquotationmarks_rightsearchsendshareshare_filledshoppingcart_bigshoppingcart_big_filledshoppingcart_headershoppingcart_smallshoppingcart_small_filledsocial_facebooksocial_linkedinsocial_pinterestsocial_twittersocial_xingsocial_youtubeuser_biguser_small
05. December 2011

Baustatik: Analyse & Synthese von Tragstrukturen in Praxis und Forschung

After Christmas Ernst & Sohn will publish the book Baustatik ("Structural Analysis") by Peter Marti, Professor for Structural Engineering and Concrete Structures at the ETH Zürich.

In this book, the author discusses the analysis of two and three-dimensional structures according to elastic and plastic theory. It continues the analytical tradition of ETH Professors Karl Culmann (1821-1881), Wilhelm Ritter (1847-1906), Hans Ziegler (1910-1985) and Bruno Thürlimann (1923-2008). Karl Culmann is the subject of another book published by Ernst & Sohn, a wonderful novel entitled "Karl Culmann und die graphische Statik. Zeichnen, die Sprache des Ingenieurs" (Karl Culmann and Graphic Statics. Drawing as an Engineering Language" and written by fiction author Dr. Christine Lehmann and her husband, teacher of mathematics Dr. Bertram Maurer. As Ritter once followed in the footsteps of Culmann, so does Marti continue Thürlimann's work in a creative manner.

By applying plastic theory to reinforced and prestressed concrete structures Thürlimann profoundly influenced teaching and research in structural engineering; Hans Ziegler, Professor of Mechanics, provided important support. Thürlimann had to prevail over the influential Fritz Stüssi (1901-1981). The latter was professor of structural analysis and steel structures at the ETH Zürich from 1937 to 1966 and would only allow elastic theory methodology and polemicised nearly 50 years ago against limit load design – which Thürlimann parried brilliantly and victoriously. All the while Stüssi's two-volume lectures on structural analysis (1st edition of 1946/1954) remained highly influential during the innovation phase of the theory of structures (1950-1975). It was therefore time to give structural analysis a modern treatment and summary. Marti achieves this exhaustively with this book. This monograph also sets a new marker for the Zurich school of structural analysis that began with Culmann's "Graphic Statics" (1864/66). At the same time it is a great homage to Thürlimann's scientific work and achievements. "Baustatik" is Marti's magnum opus – it should be required reading for all dealing with the analysis and synthesis of structures in practice, teaching and research. But this read goes much beyond direct utility; it also provides the simple pleasure knowledge.

abo_giftabo_onlineabo_printabo_studentabo_testangle_leftangle_rightangle_right_filledarrow_big_downarrow_big_down_filledarrow_big_leftarrow_big_left_filledarrow_big_rightarrow_big_right_filledarrow_big_uparrow_big_up_filledarrow_dropdown_downarrow_dropdown_uparrow_small_leftarrow_small_left_filledarrow_small_rightarrow_small_right_filledarrow_stage_leftarrow_stage_left_filledarrow_stage_rightarrow_stage_right_filledcaret_downcaret_upcloseclose_thinclose_thin_filledcontactdownload_thickdownload_thick_filleddownload_thindownload_thin_filledebookeditelement_headlineelement_labelelement_relatedcontentlockmailminuspagepage_filledpagespages_filledphoneplusprintprint_filledquotationmarks_leftquotationmarks_rightsearchsendshareshare_filledshoppingcart_bigshoppingcart_big_filledshoppingcart_headershoppingcart_smallshoppingcart_small_filledsocial_facebooksocial_googleplussocial_linkedinsocial_pinterestsocial_twittersocial_xingsocial_youtubeuser_biguser_small
30. November 2011

Baustatik: Analyse & Synthese von Tragstrukturen in Praxis und Forschung

Nach Weihnachten erscheint bei Ernst & Sohn das Buch Baustatik von Peter Marti, Professor für Baustatik und Massivbau an der ETH Zürich.

Dort behandelt der Autor die Analyse von Stab- und Flächentragwerken nach der Elastizitäts- und Plastizitätstheorie. Das Buch steht in der baustatischen Tradition der ETH-Professoren Karl Culmann (1821-1881), Wilhelm Ritter (1847-1906), Hans Ziegler (1910-1985) und Bruno Thürlimann (1923-2008). Über Karl Culmann publizierten die Schriftstellerin Dr. Christine Lehmann und ihr Mann, der Mathematiklehrer Dr. Bertram Maurer bei Ernst & Sohn den wunderbaren Ingenieur-Roman „Karl Culmann und die graphische Statik. Zeichnen, die Sprache des Ingenieurs“. Wie Ritter einst in die Fußstapfen von Culmann trat, setzt Marti heute das Werk von Thürlimann kreativ fort.

Mit der Plastizitätstheorie im Stahlbeton- und Spannbetonbau beeinflusste Thürlimann Lehre und Forschung im Konstruktiven Ingenieurbau zutiefst; dabei wurde er von Hans Ziegler, Professor für Mechanik, tatkräftig unterstützt. So musste sich Thürlimann gegen den einflussreichen Fritz Stüssi (1901-1981) durchsetzen. Letztgenannter wirkte von 1937 bis 1966 als Professor für Baustatik und Stahlbau an der ETH Zürich. Stüssi, der in der Baustatik nur elastizitätstheoretische Methoden gelten lassen wollte polemisierte vor fast 50 Jahren gegen das Traglastverfahren – Thürlimann parierte glänzend und trug den Sieg davon. Gleichwohl blieb Stüssis zweibändige „Vorlesungen über Baustatik“ (1. Aufl. 1946/1954) in der Innovationsphase der Baustatik (1950-1975) noch immer einflussreich. Es war also an der Zeit, dass die Baustatik eine moderne Bearbeitung und Zusammenfassung erfahren musste: Dies ist Marti mit seiner „Baustatik“ vollständig gelungen. Mit seiner Monographie setzt Marti einen Markstein in der mit Culmanns „Graphischer Statik“ (1864/66) anhebenden Züricher Schule der Baustatik; gleichzeitig ist sein Buch eine großartige Hommage an das wissenschaftliche Werk und Wirken Thürlimanns. Die „Baustatik“ ist Martis Opus Magnum – sie sollte Pflichtlektüre für all Jene sein, die sich mit der Analyse und Synthese von Tragstrukturen in Praxis, Lehre und Forschung auseinandersetzen. Aber die Lektüre geht über den unmittelbaren Nutzen insofern hinaus als sie reine Freude an der Erkenntnis stiftet.